Find Cultural attractions Attractions in , search things to do and see in your holiday location with Tourism Adelaide.
Welcome to the Art Gallery of South Australia
Founded in 1881, the Art Gallery of South Australia is home to one of Australia's great art collections, housed in one of Adelaide's most beautiful buildings. Located at the heart of Adelaide's cultural boulevard, North Terrace, between the South Australian Museum and University of Adelaide, the Art Gallery welcomes more than half a million visitors each year. We hope you will enjoy your visit - whether real, or virtual.
The Art Gallery is open daily 10 am to 5 pm (closed 25 December).
General admission to the Art Gallery is free. Charges apply for some exhibitions.
The Flinders University City Gallery presents an annual exhibition program to promote engagement with the visual arts. Exhibitions feature Australian artists, Indigenous and non-Indigenous, and often draw on the nationally significant collections held by Flinders University at Bedford Park. High quality giftware sourced from remote Aboriginal communities is available in the City Gallery Shop.
Ayers House is a prime example of colonial architecture and contains many important decorative features. Of major interest are the ornate painted finishes and examples of trompe l\'oeil on the walls and ceilings of all rooms, the large reception rooms designed for entertaining and the external symmetry of the house with its two matching bow windows.
Today, Ayers House Museum is managed by the National Trust of South Australia. It houses a large collection of antique furniture, silver, paintings and costume, mostly dating from the nineteenth century, and corresponding to the period of Henry Ayers\' occupancy of the house.
Disabled facilities are ground floor access only.
Carrick Hill is fortunate in being one of the few period homes in Australia to survive with its original contents almost completely intact and its grounds undiminished.
It was a centre of stylish living; and friends hold fond memories of ahouse constantly filled with laughter, parties, artists, music, good wine,fine food and dancing; and heady with the scent of masses of flowers.While those days are now gone, Carrick Hill remains as an important example of the lifestyle of two wealthy and cultured Australians of the mid-twentieth century.
Close to the sea, in Port Adelaide’s historic heart, is the South Australian Maritime Museum.
The Museum opened in 1986 to be acclaimed as one of the finest maritime museums in the world. Since that time well over 1,000,000 people have visited and the Museum has earned its place as one of this state’s great cultural icons.
Your experience begins at the Bond Stores, home to the Museum’s exhibition galleries. In the 1850s these grand spaces were built to hold goods and cargo. Today, they offer a historical journey of revelation, exploration and stimulation. Our aim is to explore South Australia’s connections to the sea and water environments and to make it fun and interesting!
Take a journey into railway history at the National Railway Museum, Australia's largest railway museum with over 100 exhibits representing state, Commonwealth and private railway operators on the three major rail gauges used in Australia.
Climb into the cabs of giant steam engines, walk through elegant carriages and enjoy free train rides and educational displays. Open every day 10am - 5pm.
Or why not take a ride in the Semaphore and Fort Glanville Tourist Railway from October to April every day in the school holidays and on weekends.
The National Railway Museum....Affordable Family Entertainment.
We invite you to explore the Gaol and experience the conditions that prisoners endured from 1841 to 1988.
A visit to Adelaide Gaol offers a chance to inspect the inside of a fascinating historical landmark and to view an array of artefacts dating back to the gaol\'s early years.
Do you believe in ghosts? A Ghost Tour by torchlight or lamplight will give you a fascinating insight into the numerous sightings of ghostly figures and movements around the gaol.
Ghost Tours are not suitable for under 15 year olds.
Night tours for a minimum of 12 people are available by prior booking.
Stroll at your leisure behind the walls of The Jail in a self guided tour, use the phone at the front entrance to contact the manager, prior to you entering. Built in 1866, the former Mount Gambier Gaol was used up to 1995 and is now also available for budget accommodation with a difference.
The Cedars is a gracious old home containing a fine collection of paintings and drawings by artist Sir Hans Heysen.
See Heysen's remarkable versatility in subject and medium. Enter Heysen's working studio, built in 1912 and used by this iconic painter until his death in 1968. See his painting materials and tools, sketches, notes and more. The Cedars's rambling cottage garden is part of the South Australian Open Garden. A walking trail is also featured on the 60 hectare property and directs visitors to favourite painting sites used by the artist.
The studio of Nora Heysen (Archibald prize winner and daughter of Hans) is also open for viewing and features continuous exhibitions of her work.
You'll always find something to see and do at the Adelaide Festival Centre, whether it's theatre, dance, music, festivals, visual art, children's theatre, or much more. Situated on King William Road and comprising four theatres (the Festival Theatre, Dunstan Playhouse, Space Theatre and Amphitheatre) as well as Her Majesty's Theatre close by, it is also home to the annual Adelaide Cabaret Festival and OzAsia Festival, also the biannual Adelaide International Guitar Festival and Come Out Children’s Festival, which all attract thousands of local, national and international visitors
The Murray Bridge Regional Gallery is located in the heart of Murray Bridge on Sixth Street at the rear of the Town Hall. The gallery hosts a range of touring and curated exhibitions in its three exhibition spaces while the retail area showcases the work of contemporary South Australian makers and artists. Visit the gallery's website for further information.
RM Williams was a drover, well-digger, boot-maker, miner and more, who became one of South Australia's most successful businessman and an icon. You can discover more about his life and legacy at the RM Williams Outback Heritage Museum in Adelaide. RM Williams set up the beginnings of his first factory in 1932 in an iron woodshed behind his father's house at 5 Percy Street, Prospect - now the museum site. Over time, his business diversified into saddlery, equipment, his trademark moleskins, jeans and shirts. RM Williams passed away in 2003, aged 95. The museum boasts a unique collection of RM Williams artefacts donated by many long-time customers. You'll find saddlery, hand-plaited bridles, whips, clothing and boots. A narrative text and photographs tell the incredible story of RM Williams. With the aid of DVD touch screens, see how the boots are made and hear RM Williams reminisce about his life.
One of three original cottages built at Kingscote in 1856. The cottage has a collection of items depicting the early settlement of Kingscote, the site of South Australia's first official settlement, including the history of many early pioneers, photographs, automobile memorabilia, laundry display and an original cellar that can be viewed. The display includes a large range of obsolete farm machinery, tractors and engines including the Ruston Hornsby engine which powered the electricity supply for Kingscote before the introduction of electricity from the mainland and a restored pre-diesel internal combustion engine. Some of the tractors and motor vehicles are still operational and more items are regularly obtained and restored. The Lighthouse tower with light assembly was brought from Cape Willoughby when it became obsolete with the introduction of mainland electricity to Kangaroo Island in 1968. A good view of the town can be seen from the balcony of the tower.
The heritage listed Mount Dutton Bay Woolshed is a 'working' museum consisting of hundreds of local items depicting the history of the shearing, farming and fishing era. These items adorn the restored stone walls of this heritage-listed woolshed. Some items were found under debris of the Woolshed at the time of restoration (mid 1992). The Mount Dutton Bay Jetty, which adjoins the Woolshed, is also heritage listed, and was a major 'land-sea link' for the region. Over 20,000 sheep were shorn within the Woolshed a year whilst nearly 100,000 fleeces were stored awaiting ketches from the Mt Dutton Bay Jetty, for overseas markets. Heritage Tours of the Woolshed Museum are available for large or small groups, coach tours and school groups. Our famous Duttonshire Teas is also available for groups, which consists of homemade scones, local quandong jam and whipped cream with brewed coffee or tea. Bookings essential.
The Barossa Regional Gallery is a high quality art space displaying works from the permanent Barossa Vintage Festival Collection, Community Art in Fabric, regularly changing temporary and touring exhibitions of paintings and sculptures and space for paintings by Barossa artists. The Barossa Regional Gallery is the home of the historical Hill & Son Grand Organ (1875), lovingly restored by the Organ Historical Trust. The gallery also operates a retail service with local handmade crafts, artworks and books available for purchase.
The Morgan Museum is situated in the Landseers building and overlooks the lawn riverbank area and the ferry. Early life in the Morgan area is the theme. This encompasses the farming activities, riverboat trade with the railway linking Morgan to the seaport of Adelaide and the pumping station for the Morgan to Whyalla pipeline. Superb horse drawn vehicles used for the transportation of goods and passengers are on display along with a 1926 Chevrolet truck in working order. Your family will also enjoy the old telephone exchange set up near the old schoolroom and the farmhouse kitchen. You will enjoy wandering around the exhibits in the Morgan Museum so be sure to include a visit to Morgan when you plan your next trip to the Riverland in South Australia. A fantastic display of model paddle wheelers from the Peter Barcham collection is also on display. These vessels are important in the history of Morgan.
Historic home ‘Grange’ and exhibition gallery
The Grange is the former colonial residence of the renowned explorer Captain Charles Napier Sturt. It was built in 1840 in what was known as the “Reedbeds”. After many years of neglect, the house was restored in the 1960s to ensure that Sturt’s contribution to South Australia’s history was preserved.
Sturt’s most significant expedition, the 1829-30 journey to the mouth of the River Murray, played a major role in the establishment of South Australia. The Grange was also the point of departure for Captain Sturt’s expedition into Central Australia in 1844-46 whereupon he reached within 280kms from the centre of Australia.
In 2004 an extensive gallery wing was developed to display significant artefacts belonging to Captain Sturt which include the Union Jacks carried on both Sturt’s major expeditions, Sturt’s travelling wash stand, his telescope and the original Desert Peas collected on his return journey from central Australia. The Sturt Desert Pea became the State Flora Emblem.
The Grange is registered on the National Estate and the State Heritage List. The museum is a Registered Museum with HistorySA.
A special feature for visitors is the Herbert Croker model of Sturt’s campsite on the Murrumbidgee River before the boats were assembled for the voyage down the River Murray. The breathtaking model details with great precision all the elements of the campsite, from the construction of the whale boat with carpentry tools to tent accommodation, eating utensils and weaponry.
The museum offers guided tours of the ‘Grange’, interpretive displays accounting the life and times of Sturt and a series of media displays which capture the essence of Sturt’s expeditions.
Originally the Port Broughton School, the Heritage Centre was opened in 1993. The Heritage Centre was designed to display the recordings of the past for the benefit of future generations. Plan ahead and book in to spend some time at this hands-on heritage centre containing many historical papers, photos, articles and a beautiful "Plangon" doll collection.
The Kapunda Museum recognised as one of the finest folk museums in Australia was built in 1866. The museum contains a huge collection covering every facet of Kapunda's history and there is an extensive display of agricultural machinery and historic vehicles. The Hawke Gallery features engineering and foundry products from the industries 123 year history and commemorates the company founded in 1857 by former smuggler, Henry Binney Hawke. A massive Hawke cross-compound steam engine can be seen. Bagot's Fortune is an interpretative display covering all aspects of the early mining and pioneer lifestyle of the miners. Under the management of Captain Charles Hervey Bagot, the Kapunda Mine was developed from the wilderness to produce the richest and purest copper ore the world had seen. An audio visual presentation introduces Kapunda's history to the visitor. Group tours, self guided town tours and mine walking trail tours are available.
Versatility is what Wallaroo artist, Roy Purcell, is known for - and his choices vary from abstract to portrait and anything that catches his eye as a workable subject. Roy's gallery, The Art Spot, has over one hundred works on display and other paintings can be seen on display at another gallery in Wallaroo - Phil Roe's Gallery and Electrical Museum in Wildman Street, and at the Burra Art Gallery (Main Street, Burra). Roy's gallery is open any day including public holidays. A telephone call may be needed for days other than Friday, Saturday, Sunday and public holidays. Bus trips are welcome and tea and coffee can be provided by prior arrangement.
The Hindmarsh Historical Fire and Folk Museum was one of the first historical societies in South Australia and its aim was to preserve memorabilia from the Hindmarsh area for future generations to see and enjoy. The Museum is located in the previous Volunteers Fire Brigade building and an extensive collection of memorabilia from the Brigade forms the basis of our collection. The Hindmarsh Volunteers Fire Brigade was the second volunteer fire brigade in the state; Norwood was opened three months earlier. The Brigade was operational from 1884 to 1942 when the government disbanded it during the Second World War and the Metropolitan Fire Brigade took over the responsibilities. The fully restored 1927 Chevrolet Fire Engine used by the Brigade is on display and used in historical parades from time to time and an original Wooden Hand Cart, circa 1890, used by the fire fighters is also displayed.
Platform 1 Heritage Farm Railway at Littlehampton features a train ride, farm animals and railway memorabilia, just 10 minutes from Hahndorf. Travel by train through and past a historic farmyard and out into the open paddocks. Kids will love the one kilometre train ride and adults will enjoy the history of this farm that has been owned by six generations. Meet and feed Captain the horse, Alice and Henry the pigs and Miss Moo the cow and interact with the other farm animals. Play on the railway displays, dress up and be a train driver, signalman or play on the giant trains and tunnels game. Homemade scones with homemade jam and fresh cream are a delight as you relax in the century old barn. Train and farmyard toys and gifts are available and a visit is not complete without enjoying a few of the popular train chocolates. School groups, vacation care and playgroups find Platform 1 a great day out and the educational Paddock to Plate programme is very popular. Senior groups can relive years gone by with a history tour. Platform 1 Heritage Farm Railway also offers children's train parties.
Yulgilbar Wood Gallery is situated 10 minutes south of the township of Naracoorte, in South Australia's south-eastern region. The south-east is known for its limestone caves, superb wetlands, birdlife and world class wineries. David and Sandra Williamson set up their gallery in 1990, directly opposite the exit road from the famous World Heritage listed Naracoorte Caves (listed for the rich fossil deposits). Gallery prices are reasonable for a range of bowls and vases in a wide variety of local timbers. Bar tops, mantelpieces with natural edges, can be ordered and made to specific sizes. Price is dependent on size - these pieces are only available in red gum. The gallery houses a range of utilitarian ware in the form of solid and well finished red gum cutting boards of varying sizes. Works created are as individual as the piece of timber from which they are derived, and no two creations are identical. Variations of items are possible, depending on the size of available timber. A range of furniture- dining and coffee tables, bookshelves, wine racks and beds can be made to order, specific to customers requirements.
The Maitland Museum contains relics of a bygone era, showcasing local history, agricultural machinery, German heritage and more. Settled in 1851 by Samuel Rogers at Ynoo Station in 1851, Maitland has long been an important agricultural district. The museum, housed in the former school built in 1877, situated at the corner of Gardiner and Kilkerran Terraces, gives visitors an insight into life in the area as it was in days gone by.
The Ceduna Branch of the National Trust of South Australia opened to the public in 1980. The public has been very generous with their donations and goods, which make up our displays. Our main building was the first school in Ceduna built in 1912. Other buildings include school classrooms from the area, the first post office in Ceduna, the first gaol in Ceduna, the Denial Bay Gaol, large machinery sheds, a blacksmith's shop, a church, and a cottage. Unusual displays include items from the Maralinga Village, a complete set of baking equipment, Aboriginal artefacts, a large display of medical goods, a plaster cast of a 25-foot basking shark and the skull and ribs of a Southern Right whale. A large collection of household items and machinery of all types used by our community in the past years, along with a host of other goods make up our comprehensive display.
Gallery 88 is a Community gallery established in January 2005, for the display and promotion of quality artwork by a current membership of seventeen local artists. This large, spacious gallery invites visitors to leisurely browse undisturbed amongst paintings, silk-paintings, wood work, felt work and hand-made cards, with a friendly assistant standing by when help is required or questions need answering. The display of paintings is changed tri-monthly thus ensuring vibrancy and freshness for our visitors. All work is for sale and lay-by facilities are available. Gallery 88 is an ideal venue for special exhibitions and is a 'must visit' attraction when in Yankalilla.
The Kapunda Heritage Trail meanders ten kilometres through the town, allowing the opportunity to see some of the town's historic places, buildings and remnants of previous lifestyles that have shaped Kapunda's history and character. Situated between the Clare and Barossa Valleys, you will find Kapunda, a small and friendly country town with a rich and interesting history. With the discovery of copper and the establishment of Australia's first commercial copper mine in 1844, Kapunda flourished. The boom period during the 1840s - 1870s saw a strong and independent business and manufacturing base develop in the town. The town exudes a pleasant appeal, which, in part, emanates from the ornate, well-preserved, main precinct buildings, which continue to serve the community after more than a century and a half. You can pick up a map of the trail from the Kapunda Visitor Information Centre.
Art Images Gallery is a contemporary art gallery showcasing the work of local and interstate emerging and established artists. The gallery caters to both art lovers and art investors. It has a regular exhibition program covering a wide variety of mediums including paintings, Indigenous art, sculpture and limited edition works on paper. Art Images Gallery can arrange for artwork to be packaged and delivered Australia-wide. Situated on The Parade in Norwood, only two kilometres east of Adelaide central business district, they are open seven days. Off street parking is available.
Henriette's Art Studio and Gallery located in the beautiful seaside location of Moonta Bay, features indoor and outdoor art by local artist Henriette Norde. Stunning vibrant paintings are on display, and you can also purchase one to take home as a souvenir of your Yorke Peninsula holiday or as a gift for someone.
Come and experience the Woomera Interactive Rocket Range Museum and discover the pivotal role Woomera plays in the past, present and future history of Australia. The Heritage Museum contains historical displays relating to the Woomera Range and to the closed Joint Defence Facility at Nurrungar. The displays contain an extensive range of rocket parts along with photographs and descriptions of Range activities, including the most recent NEXST-1 and HyShot trials. A video is also shown in the museum recounting significant events in Woomera's history. The Heritage Centre sells a large range of souvenirs, including polo shirts, hats and caps, magnets, spoons, stubby holders, maps, postcards and photos of Woomera. Snackbar and Ten Pin Bowling Alley are also located in the centre for your enjoyment. Entry fee applies for admission to the Heritage Musuem. Groups catered for with prior arrangement.
Visit a classic 'bloke's shed' museum, the Axel Stenross Maritime Museum. Axel Stenross made boats and the museum celebrates him, his life and the rich maritime history of Port Lincoln. The museum is an historic house but it is not the grand home of a rich landowner. Finnish-born Axel lived humbly in his corrugated iron complex, as can be seen by some of the walls which are made from tea chests. Axel's home is simple but the museum is 21st century in other ways. For example, touch screens provide access to information on the many vessels which came to Port Lincoln. One of South Australia's most distinctive museums, it is also an operating slip-yard where small craft are cleaned and painted in among a number of historic vessels now at their final home. Smell the sea and listen to the waves lapping not far from where you stand in the museum.
The Rain Moth Gallery shop has a wide range of art and craft for sale from Riverland and South Australian artists. The exhibition rooms feature a minimum of eight new exhibitions per year ranging from paintings, to glass work, to creative crafts, to school students art, and displays of historical importance. Outside the gallery is an art space featuring mosaic work and sculpture.
The cellar door of Mt Surmon Wines is a modern building situated on a 400 metre hillside with commanding views of northern Clare Valley. It consists of an art gallery, set in a 50 acre vineyard. Situated under the winery is a studio apartment available for accommodation. Scarlattis Cellar Door Gallery is a venue with a difference, modern in concept, bold in design with wonderful vistas of the Flinders Ranges and the Clare Valley. The gallery is the cellar door for Mt Surmon Wines and you may taste fine wines whilst contemplating the current art exhibition. The name Surmon is derived from the old French word 'surmonter' meaning 'to ascend', 'to rest on top of'. An irresistible word play led us the owners to adopt the name Mt Surmon for our vineyard.
No. 58 Cellar Door & Gallery offers Thunderbird and Mt. Billy Wines tastings and sales. It's in front of historic Waverley Estate, Port Elliot, on the southern Fleurieu peninsula. Visit the onsite gallery and see work by local and international artists. Enjoy coffee, freshly made cakes and local farm grown produce. Artisan breads, light meals and regional tasting plates are also available.
The Mallee Tourist and Heritage Centre contains a number of different exhibits and displays which tell the stories of the Mallee. Visitors can explore the Gum Family collection of restored tractors, stationary engines, farm and household memorabilia and the Printing Museum which displays presses, equipment and letterpress type. The DA Wurfel Grain Collection exhibits different varieties of grain and there are also displays honouring the pioneer women of the district. The South Australia Dry project depicts the district's settlement and development through dioramas and interpretive panels and the Mallee Panorama of landscape scenes shows the different faces of the Mallee.
Off the Slate Gallery is a community co-operative of 20 to 25 mainly local artists, from the Fleurieu Peninsula. Visitors to the Gallery can expect an eclectic and exciting range of artworks displayed for sale, including paintings, sculpture, pottery, slumped glass, jewellery, lamps, woodcraft, photo art and digital art. The Gallery has three major exhibitions annually, plus three other changeovers of exhibition annually. See website for details. Regular changeover of 3-D art works occur throughout the year. The Gallery is co-located with the Willunga Glass Studios in the historic Willunga township, less than 15 minutes from the southern beaches and only minutes from many of the Cellar Doors in the famed McLaren Vale wine region. Off the Slate Gallery is a participant in the Fleurieu Peninsula Art Trail.
A unique building, which is an important part of the town's history as a port. See collections about the history of Beachport and surrounding area. Learn about the whaling and fishing industry. See artefacts from the early farming properties. Built in the 1870s from local stone, the building was originally used to store grain and wool downstairs while the manager resided upstairs. Nowadays, as a museum, it gives an insight into the early days of Beachport.
Situated in the heat of McLaren Vale, Artel Gallery and Giftware showcases the work of over 60 local artists and crafts people, capturing the diverse artistic talent of the local art and craft community. Everything in the store is locally handcrafted or Australian-made. Quality jewellery, wood turning, pottery, lead-lighting, wind chimes, wooden toys, McLaren Vale Lavender products and wine barrel cheeseboards are just some of the locally-made items that are part of the Artel experience. In the Art Gallery you will find a variety of local artists displaying art, mosaics, sculpture, pottery and ceramics. Artel also stocks a large range of unique Australian Souvenirs and Australiana gifts, all Australian-made. Voted Business of the Year in the McLaren Vale Regional Awards 2010.
You can meet Stephen Everingham the resident artist at the Goanna Hill Gallery, which is located at Paringa in South Australia. Stephen has a passion for the environment and believes in good management of the river systems and the dry lands. Drawn to paint from a creative conviction and purpose and inspired by the spectacular and uniqueness of the surrounding dry lands and river scape areas, the fauna and flora and the labyrinth of the pioneering historical significance that lies in the not so distant skeletal past. Stephen also paints portraits. He likes to work in the mediums of oils and watercolour with a representative attitude, a window in time style that has been developed over the trials of living projects of life connected to the here and now.
The Tumby Bay National Trust Museum holds collections relating to churches, schools, shipping, shops, early settlers, agriculture, entertainment, hospital, war and various household items. You'll find many books of local historical interest and botanical drawings; original letters from pioneers, books and photographs. There are displays on saddle making, communications, sporting photos and trophies. There is also a room furnished with period furniture - a kitchen, laundry, sitting room and bedroom, as well as clothing to match the period.